Clearing Up Common Myths and Misconceptions Regarding DUIs in Arizona

Clearing Up Common Myths and Misconceptions Regarding DUIs in Arizona

 

According to the US Department of Transportation, Arizona has the strictest and most stringent rules, regulations, and laws on the books regarding penalties for drunk driving and driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

 

To put it bluntly, the worst state to get caught driving while drunk or driving after consuming drugs is Arizona – and it isn’t even close. The penalties here are severe even for first-time offenders and only get even worse for those that are repeat offenders in the state.

 

The best thing you can do is commit to not driving while under the influence of alcohol or drugs in the state of Arizona (or anywhere else, for that matter), but if you have been charged with a DUI in this state there are some myths and misconceptions you’ll want to understand before you attempt to fight these charges, argues DUI Attorney Vista.

 

First Time Offenders Have It Easy

 

A lot of states in the US take it pretty easy on first-time offenders that have been charged with misdemeanor DUI, but nothing could be further from the truth in the state of Arizona.

 

For starters, first-time offenders are going to face a mandatory 10 days in jail as well as a financial penalty of $1250. First-time offenders also lose their license for 90 days, minimum. On top of all that first-time offenders are also going to have to install a breathalyzer system directly into their vehicle that won’t allow it to be started if any alcohol is detected.

 

Penalties for a second (and all subsequent) DUI charge get even stricter, with individuals charged with two DUIs immediately becoming Class 4 felons. Your second DUI charge will require you to spend at least four months in prison (and very frequently much more than that).

A DUI is a DUI in the State of Arizona

 

In most states, a DUI charge is pretty clear cut and dry as soon as you are found to have consumed more than the legal limit according to your blood alcohol content percentage, as shown by Roseville Personal Injury Lawyers.

 

In the state of Arizona, however, there are four different levels of DUI that you may be charged with – all of them more serious than the last and with stiffer penalties across the board.

 

Standard DUI charges will be assessed to individuals that have consumed enough alcohol to have a BAC above 0.08% – provided you are over the age of 21. Those under the age of 21 (the legal drinking age) will trigger a standard DUI if there BAC is higher than 0.00%. Commercial vehicle drivers will trigger a Standard DUI with a BAC of 0.04% (or half traditional drivers over the age of 21).

 

Extreme DUI charges are going to be assessed to any individuals that have consumed enough alcohol to have a BAC higher than 0.15%. The next level up from here is a Super Extreme DUI charge that is triggered add 0.20% BAC – and that’s when penalties and punishments really start to get extreme.

 

Finally, the Aggravated DUI charge is going to be assessed to any individual that has been arrested and charged with at least two other DUIs in the state of Arizona in the last seven years, has been found to be driving drunk with an individual under the age of 15 in the vehicle, or has been found to be driving drunk after they have had a BAC interlock device installed in their vehicle.